ASOR NEWS

ASOR National Conference

The 19th National Conference of the Australian Society for Operations Research (ASOR) was held at RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia from 3-5 December 2007. The theme of the conference was '*Operations Research for Today and Tomorrow*'. In the conference, there were three keynote speakers and two invited speakers as follows:

Keynote Speakers

- Associate Prof. Natashia Boland, University of Melbourne, Department of Mathematics and Statistics
- Professor Michael Trick, Carnegie Mellon University, Professor of Operations Research, Tepper School of Business and IFORS Vice President/North America
- Professor Reuven Rubinstein, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, William Davidson Faculty of Industrial Engineering and Management

Invited Speakers

- Associate Prof. Moshe Sniedovich, University of Melbourne, Department of Mathematics and Statistics
- Dr Barbara Smith, Reader, School of Computing, University of Leeds

The conference was well organised, and it attracted 61 contributed papers and many delegates. The details of the papers presented in the conference can be found in ASOR website: http://www.asor.org.au/conf2007/files/program_ASOR07.doc. Thanks to the organising committee for their hard work specifically:

- Chair: Dr Patrick Tobin, Swinburne University
- Program: Assoc. Prof. Baikunth Nath, Univ. of Melbourne
- Editor: Assoc. Prof. Andrew Eberhard, RMIT University
- Venue: Ms Kaye E. Marion, RMIT University

ASOR National Executives and Representatives for 2008-2009

ASOR national executives and chapter representatives met on 2nd December at Ibis Hotel, Melbourne to elect new national executives and representatives for the next two years term (2008-2009). Prof. Erhan Kozan of Queensland University of Technology and Dr Andrew Higgins of CSIRO, both from Queensland chapter, were elected as President and Vice President (Administration) respectively. The complete list of elected members is as follows:

Office Bearers and Members of the National Council

- President: Erhan Kozan, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane
- Vice President Administration: Andrew Higgins, CSIRO, Brisbane
- Vice President Education: Moshe Sneidovich, University of Melbourne
- Treasurer: Kaye Marion, RMIT University, Melbourne

- Bulletin Editor: Ruhul Sarker, UNSW@ADFA, Canberra
- Public Officer Phil Kilby, NICTA at ANU, Canberra

ASOR Representatives

- APORS Erhan Kozan, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane
- IFORS Baikunth Nath, University of Melbourne
- AMSC Lou Caccetta, Curtin University of Technology, Perth
- FASTS Lou Caccetta, Curtin University of Technology, Perth

Other positions

- International Abstracts Erhan Kozan, Queensland University of Technology
- APORS nominated V/P IFORS Moshe Sneidovich, University of Melbourne

We like to thank our outgoing President Associate Prof. Baikunth Nath and outgoing Vice President Administration: Prof. Santosh Kumar for their hard work over the last two years.

Annual General Meeting

ASOR annual general meeting (AGM) was held on 4th December at 5:30pm at RMIT University, Melbourne. About 20 members attended the AGM. In the AGM, outgoing President Associate Prof. Baikunth Nath presented the President's report and Treasure Ms Kaye Marion presented the financial report and Bulletin editor Dr Ruhul Sarker presented a report on ASOR Bulletin. All these reports were discussed and approved without any objection.

As the current cost of printing and postage for ASOR Bulletin is too high, Dr Ruhul Sarker (Bulletin editor) proposed to publish ASOR Bulletin electronically for ASOR members from December 2007 issue. The proposal was approved by the members present in the AGM. Dr Ruhul Sarker also proposed to start a new OR e-journal under ASOR banner. The e-journal proposal was debated and a committee was formed to examine the benefits of resource deployment for such publication. The committee will report their findings to the national executives in the near future.